Client Login

Request Demo

Extended Meaningful Use Stage 2 and Stage 3 Timeline

On December 6th, 2013, CMS proposed a new meaningful use timeline for the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs. Under this new timeline, Stage 2 MU will be extended through 2016 with Stage 3 beginning in 2017. Providers are still required to complete at least 2 years in Stage 2 before advancing to Stage 3.

“The goal of this change is two-fold:” according to CMS, “first, to allow CMS and ONC to focus efforts on the successful implementation of the enhanced patient engagement, interoperability and health information exchange requirements in Stage 2; and second, to utilize data from Stage 2 participation to inform policy decisions for Stage 3.”

What does the new timeline mean for Providers?
If eligible providers have completed 2 years of Stage 2 MU by 2016, then they would begin Stage 3 MU in 2017.

Click Here to see the complete announcement from CMS.

Media Contact:
Kelly Cannon                                                        
[email protected]