Client Login

Request Demo

Mid-Week MACRA Minute – What is the EMA process?

Helping you put the MIPS pieces together each week!

MIPS Eligible Measure Applicability (EMA)

In 2017, to fully participate in the Quality performance category of MIPS, you will need to report on ONE of the below options:

  • 6 quality measures including at least one required to be an outcome measure – IF an outcome measure is NOT available, then you must submit a high priority measure. You will still need to meet data completeness requirement *at least 50% of possible data submitted for each measure submitted. (see the Quality Performance Category Fact Sheet for more information)

– OR

  • A complete specialty measure set (measures specifically for specialties such as Cardiology, Ophthalmology, etc.). All measures in the specialty set will be assessed when less that 50% of possible data are submitted.

What is the Eligible Measure Applicability (EMA) Process?

If you or your group submits data on fewer than the required 6 quality measures, CMS will conduct an eligible measure applicability (EMA) process to identify clinically related measures you could have submitted. This process applies to data submitted through claims or a qualified registry.

The EMA process consists of a clinical relations test that determines if you could have submitted more measures (including outcome and high priority measures). CMS will then adjust scoring based on how the clinical relations test affected your performance.

For more information on the EMA process visit:


If you have questions, contact the Quality Payment Program at 1-866-288-8292 (TTY) M-F 8:00am – 8:00pm EST or email [email protected].


Contact us to find out more about MediSYS at [email protected] or 205-631-5969.